Delta 8 THC has gained vast popularity over the years for its recreational as well as medicinal properties. Despite a structure similar to Delta 9, the most abundant form of THC, it is less potent and produces different effects. 

The market is currently swarming with Delta 8 THC products, however, many still have doubts over its legality. In most states, as per the 2018 Farm Bill, any product derived from hemp and containing no more than 0.3 percent THC is entirely legal. Thereby, making the use of Delta 8 THC products completely legal. 

Read More: Delta 8 & Delta 9 THC Explained

What is Delta 8 THC? 

Delta 8 THC is a rare cannabinoid found in the hemp plant. In structure, it is pretty similar to Delta 9 THC, the compound present in cannabis responsible for producing a “high”. However, it is much less potent.

Like Delta 9 THC, Delta 8 THC also produces mind-altering effects such as a euphoric buzz, the feeling of relaxation, and potential pain relief. But its effects are milder which can be increased or decreased as per the dosages.

As mentioned, Delta 8 THC is a rare cannabinoid. It doesn’t naturally occur in hemp plants in excess amounts. Therefore, most Delta 8 products are synthetically produced by chemically converting Delta-9 THC through a process known as isomerization.

Is Delta 8 legal in Tennessee? 

Tennessee state law falls in line with the 2018 Farm Bill, making it legal to use, possess, sell, distribute, and produce Delta 8 products in the state. However, Delta 8 must be sourced from help carrying equal to or lesser than 0.3 percent Delta 8 THC. Products with no more than 0.3 percent THC can also be shipped to the state. 

Complying with the Farm Law, Tennessee has legalised all forms of cannabinoids and isomers of hemp including THC except Delta 9 THC. Tennessee abides by laws likewise to North Carolina and Georgia for Delta 8 THC.

Read More: Why is Delta 8 THC Legal?

Can you purchase Delta 8 THC in Tennessee? 

Yes, it is absolutely legal to purchase Delta 8 THC products in Tennessee.

Where can you purchase Delta 8 THC products in Tennessee?

Delta 8 THC products derived from the hemp plant containing <0.3% THC are classified as food supplements in Tennessee. These products can be bought online as well as in stores in the state. While there are many stores available offline, the best place to buy Delta 8 THC products is online. If you are looking for a qualitative experience, we at D8 Gas, have many products infused with the goodness of Delta 8 THC. We also run many seasonal discount offers which are more cost-effective than maintaining a retail storefront. The additional benefit is that all our products go through third-party lab tests to ensure their potency and safety. The products are made from 100 percent natural hemp produced in the USA. Each product that we sell comes in scores of flavors for you to have a more fulfilling experience. 

How old do you have to be to buy Delta 8 THC products in Tennessee? 

You must be 21 years of age or older to legally buy Delta 8 in Tennessee. 

Do I need a medical card to purchase Delta 8 THC products in Tennessee? 

Since, Delta 8, like CBD, is derived from the hemp plant and is legal in Tennessee, state authorities have not formulated any rules that strict the purchase of this compound in the state. The simpler answer would be no you do need any medical certificate to purchase Delta 8 THC products. 

Read More: Delta 8 Disposables vs. Cartridges: Which One To Choose?

Can you travel to Tennessee with delta-8?

It is legal for an individual aged 21 or older to travel with any hemp-derived delta-8 THC product carrying no more than 0.3% THC. The state has not restricted the transportation of hemp and hemp-derived products. 

 Is CBD legal in Tennessee?

It is legal to purchase used and produce in Tennessee as it is sourced from hemp carrying up to the federal 0.3% THC limit. However, if the THC limit is more than 0.3%, it will be classified as marijuana which is heavily regulated in the state. CBD products derived from marijuana cannot be purchased in the state through licensed online stores or dispensaries. 

However, under certain restrictions, CBD oil derived from marijuana can be bought in the state. As per Senate BILL 2125, passed in the state in 2016, universities are allowed access to CBD oil carrying up to 0.9 percent TCHCR for purely research purposes. But it would be a good idea for individuals to cross-check the current rules and regulations in the state.

About the author
Adrian Mota

Hi there, I'm Adrian! I'm passionate about cannabinoids – My journey into this fascinating world began with a curiosity to understand how these compounds interact with our bodies. I've been digging into how they work in our bodies and what benefits they might offer. From exploring their various uses and perks to understanding the importance of safety considerations, I'm here to deliver clear and concise information to empower others. My aim is to help everyone get a grasp on cannabinoids so you can make smart choices as you browse through different brands and products.